Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  07:15
New York  19:15
Mumbai  04:45
Jerusalem  02:15
Brussels  01:15
Moscow  03:15

WikiDiamond

WikiDiamond - Mounted Diamond

 
jewelry
Israeli Diamond Institute  Enlarge
Mounting a diamond
A mounted diamond is a diamond that has been embedded into a piece of jewelry.
 
When it is embedded and after it is permanently set into the piece of jewelry in the desired place, it becomes a mounted diamond. There are many methods for mounting stones, and they reflect the type of diamond, its size, its quality, and the best possible effect that it can have with a particular setting.
 
As soon as the polished diamond is mounted into the piece of jewelry, no gemological laboratory can later determine its level of clarity or color with the same level of certainty as when the diamond is not mounted. Sometimes the color of the gold affects the color of the diamond – a phenomenon which allows the mounting of diamonds with a slightly inferior color. Sometimes it is even possible to hide slight imperfections in the mounted diamonds by placing it well within the piece of jewelry.
[Suggest changes/additions]
Search Value:
 
     
 
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?