Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  07:47
New York  18:47
Mumbai  05:17
Jerusalem  01:47
Brussels  00:47
Moscow  03:47

WikiDiamond

Alluvial Mining

 
Diamond Mining
  Enlarge
Alluvial Mining

Alluvial diamond mining is an above ground form of mining which concentrates on gathering diamonds on the surface. This is the most traditional and oldest mining method in the diamond industry, which originated hundreds of years ago in India. This method is widespread even today, mainly in Brazil and Africa.

 

Alluvial mining is conducted in two ways - manually and in an unorganized framework; and in the organized framework of large companies using heavy equipment. Unorganized manual mining is conducted by diggers who are provided with simple equipment (mainly spades and sieves) and food from the mining financer to whom they hand over the diamonds that they find. The diggers work mainly in areas of silt, such as riverbeds and along the coast. Sometimes they dig with their hands, sifting the sand or earth manually.

 

Organized alluvial mining, on the other hand, is carried out by large companies using heavy equipment. In this sort of mining, millions of tons of sand are removed from river beds and the coastline. The silt, including rubble, is removed for sifting and separation. This method is fairly elementary, but it requires a good deal of patience and covers extensive areas, which necessitate the use of heavy equipment and sophisticated means.

 

 

 

[Suggest changes/additions]
| | | | | | Share | | התראות RSS

 
Sign Up For Our Newsletter
Recommendations from Facebook


© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?