Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  15:12
New York  02:12
Mumbai  12:42
Jerusalem  09:12
Brussels  08:12
Moscow  11:12
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Pink Diamond Sells for $10.8 Million at Sotheby's Geneva Auction

18.05.11, 09:41 / World
pink diamond
Sotheby's Enlarge
The Fancy Intense Pink diamond weighs 10.99 carats
A rare pink diamond was bought by Lev Leviev for $10.8 million at a Sotheby's auction in Geneva Tuesday, marking the third-highest auction price ever paid for a pink diamond.
 
The 10.99-carat emerald-cut stone is classed as a Type IIa diamond and carries a color grade of Fancy Intense Pink.
 
The diamond, set in a platinum ring, had been part of a private collection and had not appeared on the market in over 30 years.
 
An historic tiara set with over 500 carats of Colombian pear-shaped emeralds, originally commissioned at the beginning of the 20th century for Countess Katharina von Henckel, sold for $12.8 million – making it the most expensive tiara ever brought under the hammer.
emerald
Sotheby’s Enlarge
A magnificent and extremely rare emerald and diamond tiara, circa 1900, formerly in the Collection of Countess Katharina von Henckel

In total, the Sotheby's sale realized over $89.5 million, with 90% of the 491 lots sold.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?