Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  05:30
New York  17:30
Mumbai  03:00
Jerusalem  00:30
Brussels  23:30
Moscow  01:30
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Alrosa Eyes African Diamond Resource Acquisition

26.12.12, 10:21 / World

diamond
Alrosa  Enlarge
Alrosa diamond processing plant
As Russian diamond company Alrosa ponders which international resources to add to its vast diamond holdings on home turf, it tends to prefer African mines over others, Rough and Polished reports. The firm's top official, Alrosa president Fyodor Andreev, said that African mines are better suited to the company's existing portfolio.

In recent months, other major mining companies have sought to divest from their diamond holdings and put mines in northern Canada up for sale. However, Alrosa has come to the conclusion that these assets are too similar to their existing properties in the Yakutian Republic. Andreev said that these mines would require serious investment to tap their underground resources, and that such an expenditure isn't entirely justified, given the short life expectancy of these reserves.

Andreev noted that Alrosa recently authorized prospecting operations in Botswana and Zimbabwe, and that it owns 33% of Angola's Catoca diamond mine, according to Rough and Polished.

 

Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?