Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  00:42
New York  12:42
Mumbai  22:12
Jerusalem  19:42
Brussels  18:42
Moscow  20:42
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Report: Russia to Sell Off Diamond Giant Alrosa

12.06.12, 10:58 / World
diamond
Alrosa  Enlarge
Sorting and valuation of Alrosa diamonds
Russia intends to sell its entire stake in the giant diamond company Alrosa, according to a top Russian official. The surprising, and somewhat unlikely, privatization aims to raise money for improving Yakutia’s infrastructures.
 
First Deputy Prime Minister Igor Shuvalov, quoted by Interfax, said the transaction will be coordinated with regional authorities.
 
"We mean the entire stake,” Shuvalov emphasized, adding that this a sensitive issue for the government of Yakutia.
 
“They don't want to sell but there are so many infrastructure problems in the republic and many new deposits that could be developed, that the proceeds from the sale of Alrosa could significantly replenish the Yakutian treasury.”
 
The move is viewed as unlikely under the Putin regime, which has acted to regain control of the country’s resources in the past decade.
 
According to Shuvalov, currently the government does not see dividends “or anything else.”
By: IDEX Online
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?