Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  06:46
New York  18:46
Mumbai  04:16
Jerusalem  00:46
Brussels  23:46
Moscow  02:46
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Africa, Asia Reject KP Conflict Diamond Proposals

07.06.12, 10:27 / World
diamond
Gem Diamonds  Enlarge
Lesotho Brown Diamond
African and Asian members states of the Kimberley Process Certification Scheme objected to two major proposals, effectively shutting them down: a proposal to expand the scope of the term "conflict diamonds" and a proposal to put the KPCS under the supervision of Western think tanks with military ties, AllAfrica.com reported.
 
At the intersessional meeting of the KP in Washington, D.C., U.S. representatives urged the organization to outsource its operations to one of the following groups: the Geneva Center for Democratic Control of the Armed Forces; the International Law and Policy Institute; or the Foley Hoag Corporate Social Responsibility Practice. Zimbabwe proposed the KP establish a full-time secretariat based in Zimbabwe itself, since it is the world's largest diamond producer.
 
An African delegate quoted by AllAfrica.com stated that the African nations rejected the proposal to expand the definition of conflict diamonds based on the results of a recent survey of KPCS members, which revealed that 75% of the group's members reject a proposed change to the global diamond industry policy.
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?