Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  01:55
New York  12:55
Mumbai  23:25
Jerusalem  19:55
Brussels  18:55
Moscow  21:55
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Johannesburg’s Jewel City Undergoing $5 Million Renovation

10.11.11, 12:14 / World
diamond
Enlarge
The diamond trading precinct will also open a 76-square-meter retail store to boost pedestrian traffic
Jewel City, a six-block precinct in Johannesburg that serves as a base for some 300 diamond traders as well as South Africa’s Diamond Board and State Traders Association, is undergoing a $5 million renovation, the SAcommercialprop News website reports.
 
Some 500 people visit the high-security area per day, most of whom are there to buy polished diamonds.
 
Jewel City underwent refurbishment as recently as 2007, when money was invested to upgrade the streets and add lighting, artwork, seating areas, and paving. The new overhaul – scheduled to be complete by the end of 2011, includes a $3.8 million extension to the Diamond Board’s head office and a 76-square-meter retail shop to boost pedestrian traffic.
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?