Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  01:52
New York  13:52
Mumbai  23:22
Jerusalem  20:52
Brussels  19:52
Moscow  21:52
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > Mining

Lucara Diamond Announces Record Results for Mothae Diamonds Tender

13.12.11, 09:50 / Mining
diamond
Enlarge
An example of one of a rough diamond yielded by Lucara's Mothae diamond project
Lucara Diamond reports outstanding results from its second tender of rough diamonds recovered from the Mothae mine in Lesotho. A total of 7,190 carats in 28 sale lots were offered on tender in Antwerp between December 5 through 9, 2011. 
 
All 28 lots received multiple bids and winning offers resulted in an average price of $893 per carat and gross proceeds of $6.4 million, an increase from Lucara’s first diamond sale earlier in the year.
 
The three stones with the highest per carat value, all Type IIa, were a 28.89 carat diamond which sold for $1.6 million ($57,113/ct, a record for Mothae), a 56.51 carat diamond which sold for $2.1 million ($37,019/ct), and a 19.20 carat diamond which sold for $490,000 ($25,520/ct).  These prices signify the exceptional quality and size of the stones that are regularly recovered from Mothae.
 
Lucara Diamond CEO William Lamb commented, “The results of this sale re-confirm the presence of a population of large, top quality diamonds within the Mothae kimberlite and demonstrate that these stones can be recovered with a regularity which greatly enhances the economic potential of the project. “
 
“We are particularly pleased with the enthusiastic market response to Mothae production, suggesting that we can always expect strong demand for our type of diamonds regardless of market conditions,” Lamb continued.
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?