Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  07:51
New York  19:51
Mumbai  05:21
Jerusalem  01:51
Brussels  00:51
Moscow  03:51
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

End of Pink Diamond Supply May Mean Price Hikes

11.10.12, 11:45 / World
Pink diamond
Courtesy  Enlarge
1.05ct Fancy light pink diamond. A pear shaped stone with amazing internally flawless clarity, excellent polish and very good symmetry.
As Rio Tinto's Argyle diamond mine in Australia enters what may very well be its final decade of operation, a jewelry and diamond industry historian says that this may lead to the inexorable increase in the value of pink diamonds, the Australian reports.
 
Vivienne Becker says that by the time that the Argyle mine's supply is extinguished, diamonds with a pink color may be considered as valuable as Faberge eggs, fetish objects for jewelry collectors. Becker maintains that the prospects of discovering another source of pink diamonds to fill the gap that will be left by Argyle's closure are "slim to impossible".
 
Due to their relative rarity, pink diamonds may sell for hundreds of thousands or even millions of dollars per carat. About 90% of the world's supply of pink diamonds are harvested from the Argyle diamond mine in the East Kimberley region of Western Australia and the underground supply of the precious gems may last for only another ten years, according to the Australian.
 
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?