Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  19:47
New York  07:47
Mumbai  17:17
Jerusalem  14:47
Brussels  13:47
Moscow  15:47

About Switzerland

  Enlarge
 

Switzerland, as one of the smallest countries in Europe, shares borders with Germany to the north, France to the west, Austria and Lichtenstein to the east and Italy to the south. 

 

Switzerland is not a member of the European Union but is a member of the European Free Trade Association.  Only as recently as 2002, Switzerland joined the United Nations' General Assembly. The Swiss economy is based principally upon services and the stalwart banking sector.

 

Switzerland is considered one of the biggest manufacturers of luxury watches in the world.  The Swiss kanton of Geneva is the center of Swiss watch production and is responsible for more than 60% of Switzerland's exports. The watch industry is the third-largest export industry in Switzerland.

 

The Swiss are well known for their neutralist foreign policies and conservative image, and the country prides itself on its strong tradition of international cooperation. 

 

 

Switzerland at a Glance

Airports: EuroAirport Basel-Mulhouse-Freiburg ; Geneva International Airport; Zurich Airport

Capital Berne

Cities (Major): Basel; Berne; Geneva; Zurich

Courier Companies: Brinks; Malca-Amit

Currency: Swiss Franc

Diamond and Jewelry Trade Shows: BaselWorld Exposition; Salon International de la Haute Horologerie Exhibition

Electrical Current:  230V/50Hz
Internet Domain Ending:  ch
Languages:  German, French, Italian, Rumantsch

Time Zone:  Greenwich +1

Telephone Code: +41 (Basel:  +61; Berne:  +31; Geneva:  +22; Zurich:  +43/44)

Public Holidays: New Year’s Day; St. Berchtold; Epiphany; Republic Day; St Joseph's Day; Good Friday; Easter Monday; Labor Day; Ascension; Whit Monday; Corpus Christi; St Peter & St Paul; Swiss National Day; Assumption; Federal Fast holiday; All Saints Day; Immaculate Conception; Christmas Day; St Stephen's Day

Clare66  Enlarge
A view of Central Switzerland 

Weather: Even though Switzerland is a small country, it enjoys a variety of weather conditions.  The climate is affected by the cold north, the central continent to the east, the Mediterranean Sea in the south, and the Atlantic Ocean on the west.  The weather is affected by the differences in these climates. Areas above 3,000 meters are extremely cold.  The most comfortable weather is from June to September.

 

Useful Links

Economic Mission of Israel in Switzerland

Israel Embassy in Switzerland

Swiss Embassy in Israel

The Israel-Switzerland-Lichtenstein Chamber of Commerce

 


More about About Switzerland:
Financial Overview
The Jewish Guide

Back  
 
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?
South America North America Europe Asia Africa Australia