Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  10:26
New York  22:26
Mumbai  07:56
Jerusalem  05:26
Brussels  04:26
Moscow  06:26

About Panama

 

Panama
  Enlarge
 Panama Flag

Panama is the southernmost country of Central America and, in turn, North America. Panama borders Costa Rica in the north, Columbia in the south, the Pacific Ocean in the west and the Caribbean Ocean in the east.

 

Panama enjoys close relations with the United States. The latter's friendly invasion in December 1989 ended Manuel Noriega's 21-year military dictatorship of Panama, and saw it assume control of the 48 mile long Panama Canal in order to protect its financial interests and insure peaceful international maritime trade.

 

Once the US returned control of the Panama Canal to Panama, the country slipped into a recession, though the economy began recovering in 2004. Over the past few years Panama has become of the most prosperous countries in Central America.

 

Panama's main industries are construction, banking, tourism, sugar refineries. The country's main agricultural exports are coffee, sugar and rice.

 

Panama at a Glance

Airport: Tocument Panama International Airport

Capital: Panama City

Courier Companies: Brinks Malca Amit

Currency: Balboa, USD

Diamond Exchange: Panama Diamond Exchange

Electricity:  110-220V/60HZ

Internet Domain: pa

Language: Spanish, English

Time Zone: GMT-5

Public Holidays: New Year's Day; Martyrs' Day; Carnival's Monday; Carnival's Tuesday; Holy Friday; May 1 Labor Day; Panama City day; Separation Day; Flag Day; Colon Day; Primer Grito de Independencia de la Villa de los antos; Independence Day; Mothers' Day; Christmas

Telephone Code: +507 

Panama  Canal
 Stan Enlarge
The Panama Canal

Weather: The weather in Panama is tropical with an average humidity of 80% and is considered comfortable year-round. The rain season usually lasts between October and November, and the best time to visit the country is between late December and March.  

 

Useful Links

Israeli Embassy in Panama

Embassy of Panama in Israel


More about About Panama:
Financial overview
The Jewish guide

Back  
 
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?
South America North America Europe Asia Africa Australia