Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  09:15
New York  20:15
Mumbai  06:45
Jerusalem  03:15
Brussels  02:15
Moscow  05:15

About Japan

 

  Enlarge
 Japan flag

Japan is located in Eastern Asia, island chain between the North Pacific Ocean and the Sea of Japan, east of the Korean Peninsula, and occupies an area slightly smaller than the state of California.

Following three decades of unprecedented growth, Japan's economy experienced a major slowdown starting in the 1990s, but the country remains a major economic power. In March 2011, Japan's strongest-ever earthquake, and an accompanying tsunami, devastated the northeast part of Honshu island, killing thousands and damaging several nuclear power plants. The catastrophe hobbled the country's economy and its energy infrastructure, and tested its ability to deal with humanitarian disasters.

  Enlarge
 A view inside Japan

Japan at a Glance

Airports: Narita Airport

Capital City: Tokyo

Courier Companies: Brinks, Malca-Amit

Currency: Japanese Yen

Electric Current: V100 50/60 hertz

Internet Domain: .jp

Languages: Japanese, English

Public Holidays: New Year's Day, Coming of Age Day, Foundation Day, Vernal Equinox Day, Shwa Day, Constitution Memorial Day, Greenery Day, Children's Day, Respect-for-the-Aged Day, Autumnal Equinox Day, Health and Sports Day, Culture Day, Labour Thanksgiving Day, The Emperor's Birthday

Telephone Code: +81

Time Zone: GMT + 9 hours

Weather: The climate in Japan varies from tropical in south to cool temperate in north

Useful Websites

Embassy of Israel in Japan

Embassy of Japan in Israel


More about About Japan:
Financial Overview
Jewish Guide

Back  
 
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?
South America North America Europe Asia Africa Australia