Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  10:21
New York  22:21
Mumbai  07:51
Jerusalem  05:21
Brussels  04:21
Moscow  06:21
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > Today's Headlines

Video Game Lets Players "Kill" Osama Bin Laden

09.05.11, 11:29 / Today's Headlines
Video Game Lets Players "Kill" Osama Bin Laden
A video game launched barely a week after US Special Forces killed Al-Qaeda leader Osama Bin Laden at his compound in Abbottabad, Pakistan, lets players reenact the raid and "kill" Bin Laden themselves. KumaWar Episode 107: Osama 2011, the latest in a series of free online games based on anti-terror themes, allows gamers to lead the team that killed the Al-Qaeda leader. The game does offer one variation on the actual mission – the virtual Special Forces can suffer casualties.
 
Thailand, Cambodia Border Talks Fail
Talks aimed at defusing the tension between Thailand and Cambodia over a disputed border region that has been the scene of escalating attacks in recent weeks failed Monday. Hun Sen of Cambodia and Abhisit Vejjajiva met on the sidelines but did not reach any breakthrough. At least 18 people have been killed in the clashes thus far.
 
Israel's Population Stands at 7.74 Million on 63rd Independence Day
Israel's population on the 63rd anniversary of the founding of the state was 7,746,000, a 2% growth since last Independence Day, the Central Bureau of Statistics reports. Since Independence Day 2010, 178,000 babies have been born; 43,000 people have died; and 24,500 new immigrants and residents abroad came into the country. 70% of Israel's Jewish population was native-born. Of the native-born Israeli, half are second-generation "sabras." Jews comprise 75.3% of Israel's population.
 
Broadcom to Buy SC Square for $42 Million
The US chipmaker Broadcom has announced plans to buy Israel's SC Square for $41.9 million, the Hebrew-language business website talniri.co.il reports. SC Square, founded in 1999, develops information security software. Its products include smart cards, ID cards, employee cards and banking. Broadcom made its last acquisition in Israel in March, when it bought Provigent for $313 million. The deal for SC Square is expected to be inked by June.
 
Dollar Weakens 0.2% Against Shekel
The dollar was down 0.2% against the shekel Monday morning, trading at a rate of NIS 3.441/$. The Euro lost 1% to trade at NIS 4.9561/€. In international currency trading, the dollar was mixed – dropping 0.1% against the euro and gaining against 0.2% against the pound. The dollar also gained on the yen, trading at ¥80.615/$.
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?