Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  02:49
New York  14:49
Mumbai  00:19
Jerusalem  21:49
Brussels  20:49
Moscow  22:49
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > Retail

Christie’s to Offer Rare Jewels and Gemstones

30.03.08, 11:09 / Retail and Jewelry

Christie’s will be offering a spectacular collection of period jewels from the 17th century to date in its upcoming sale in New York on April 15. The collection, called The Eye of a Connoisseur, includes 115 lots and is expected to realize record prices.

 

An outstanding item is one of the most important pink diamonds ever to be offered for sale at an auction. The diamond is a 14.23 carat fancy intense pink diamond with an estimated price of $10-15 million.

 

Commenting on the unique collection, Fran?ois Curiel, Christie’s Chairman of Jewelry, said, "When I reflect upon all that I have seen during my 40-year Christie's career, both at auction and privately, this collection strikes me as unparalleled to virtually any other in the world for its provenance, breadth, size and rarity.”

 

He added: “Never before have I seen assembled together such a great number of quintessential jewels from the 17th and 18th centuries, all the way to the Art Nouveau and Art Deco periods, and into the 21st century. This unique ensemble represents a walk through some of history’s most prominent figures and their jewels."

 

By: Rachel Lieberman, Israel Diamond Industry Portal
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?