Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  12:58
New York  00:58
Mumbai  10:28
Jerusalem  07:58
Brussels  06:58
Moscow  08:58
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Rio Tinto: China, India Want More Pink Diamonds

24.09.12, 11:50 / World
diamond
Peled Diamond  Enlarge
Fancy Deep Pink Argyle Dimond
One of the largest mining companies in the world, as well as one of the leading diamond suppliers, says that China and India are beginning to demonstrate hitherto unexpressed demand for colored gems, Bloomberg Businessweek reported.
 
Rio Tinto Argyle Pink Diamonds business manager Josephine Johnson said that up until 2007, only one or two of the firm's colored diamonds would be purchased by India or China, but that today those markets account for a full 20% of colored diamond consumption. Johnson attributed to the uptick in demand for pink diamonds, which Rio is a major producer of, to an acknowledgement of their relative rarity.
 
Rio's Argyle mine in western Australia is responsible for supplying about 90% of the global pink diamond supply, which is about 50 carats annually. Argyle will cease operations in eight years' time. Until that time, about 500 pink diamonds will be harvested, making them a wise investment choice, according to Bloomberg.
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?