Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  05:11
New York  17:11
Mumbai  02:41
Jerusalem  00:11
Brussels  23:11
Moscow  01:11
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > Mining

Botswana Diamond Mine Gets $500 Million Upgrade

20.09.12, 11:32 / Mining
diamond mine
NJR ZA  Enlarge
Diamond mine in Africa
The world's richest diamond mine by value has received an upgrade to its infrastructure of half a billion dollars, Mining Weekly reported. The $500 million plant upgrades at Jwaneng Cut 8 mine in Botswana should extend the life of mining operations for another 13 years. The mine expansion will allow for easier access to 91 million tons of ore that is expected to provide for over 100 million carats of rough diamonds.
 
Jwaneng is owned by Debswana, which is in itself jointly owned by the government of Botswana and diamond company De Beers.
 
The upgrades were implemented by the Fluor Corporation, who were hired to provide management, procuring and engineering services for the project, according to Mining Weekly. Fluor mining and metals general manager Matthew Cobbett expressed pride for what he described as managing to execute the infrastructural upgrades to the mine while it was still operational, with minimal disruption to business activities.
 
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?