Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  02:15
New York  14:15
Mumbai  23:45
Jerusalem  21:15
Brussels  20:15
Moscow  22:15
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > Financial News

Austria: EU Should Widen Banking Circle Without Euro

13.09.12, 13:19 / Financial News
A leading Austrian financial official said that the Eastern European countries that have recently become members of the European Union should be allowed to participate in the regional group's bank supervision plan without having to commit to using the euro currency, Bloomberg reported.
 
Helmut Ettl, co-president of Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA), Austria's financial watchdog, told a Vienna press conference that the bank supervision program should be an open group. The issue of eastern European banking is particularly relevant to Austria's banks, including its central bank, as they play an oversized financial role in those countries, lending more money than any the institutions of any other country.
 
EU Financial Services Commissioner Michel Barnier also voiced support for the proposal that countries currently not using the euro as their primary currency should be able to adopt the new bank supervision plan, according to Bloomberg.
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?