Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  11:48
New York  23:48
Mumbai  09:18
Jerusalem  06:48
Brussels  05:48
Moscow  07:48
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Stellar to Continue Sierra Leone Diamond Drilling

01.08.12, 12:02 / World
diamond mine
NJR ZA  Enlarge
Diamond mine in Africa
Diamond company Stellar has announced that it will continue its mining activities in the western African nation of Sierra Leone after it received approval from the country's Ministry of Minerals Resources, Rough and Polished reported. The firm is still negotiating with the government after it refused to renew two other mining concessions in the country.
 
Stellar chief executive Karl Smithson said that the firm intends to continue drilling and evaluating with the goal of doubling the amount of known carats at the Tongo kimberlite dyke project, which is currently thought to hold approximately 660,000 carats of rough diamonds.
 
The Sierra Leonean government refused to renew two other licenses held by Stellar since 2005, but the company hopes it can convince officials to reconsider, since it says it has invested over $19 million in exploration activities at the Kono sites.
 
Stellar also operates a kimberlite project in Guinea, where it has a inferred resource base of over three million carats of diamonds, according to Rough and Polished.
 
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?