Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  14:41
New York  02:41
Mumbai  12:11
Jerusalem  09:41
Brussels  08:41
Moscow  10:41
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Diamond News

Qatar Buys 5% Share of Tiffany's

23.04.12, 11:03 / World

diamond ring
Majestic  Enlarge
Diamond ring
An investment company that is owned by the Persian Gulf emirate of Qatar purchased almost 6.6 million shares of the American diamond company Tiffany's for around $437 million, Rough & Polished reported. The transaction made Qatar a 5% shareholder in the company.

Although the deal became part of the public record earlier in 2012 thanks to a regulatory filing by Tiffany's, knowledge of the transaction only became more widely known in the last week after the Financial Times reported on it.

Qatar Holding, the investment group that made the purchase, is owned by the Qatar Investment Authority. Qatari officials have not yet commented on the record regarding the Tiffany's transaction, which may be Qatar's first serious foray into the U.S. market. In Europe, the Qatari state owns Harrod's department store in the United Kingdom and part of the Louis Vuitton group in France.

Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?