Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  04:26
New York  16:26
Mumbai  01:56
Jerusalem  22:26
Brussels  21:26
Moscow  00:26
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Zimbabwe Diamond Sales Are Going Ahead, South African President Says

30.08.11, 12:42 / World
zibabue
Enlarge
South Africa's president says Zimbabwe can sell and is selling its diamonds
Zimbabwe is compliant with the Kimberley Process and has a right to sell its diamonds under independent monitoring, South African President Jacob Zuma said Monday in response to a parliamentarian who alleged that diamonds mined in Zimbabwe's Marange and Chiadzwa fields are not yet certified by the KP.
 
According to the Times Live news site, Zuma was asked whether he was aware that diamonds were reportedly being sold illegally to fund Zimbabwe President Robert Mugabe's Zanu-PF party.
 
"The Zimbabwean government, in response to these allegations, allowed unfettered access to the Kimberley Process monitoring team… and specifically in the Marange and Chiadzwa mines," Zuma stated in a written reply.
 
 

 
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?