Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  06:09
New York  18:09
Mumbai  03:39
Jerusalem  01:09
Brussels  00:09
Moscow  02:09
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

IGI Latest Lab To Implement QR Codes For Diamonds

22.05.13, 08:47 / World

diamond ring
Unison  Enlarge
Diamond jewelry
The International Gemological Institute is now providing quick response QR codes for IGI-certified jewelry. The code will link to an item’s unique IGI report, which can be easily viewed with a smartphone.
 
The QR codes help sales associates to communicate gemological grading information about the jewelry item, such as the 4Cs of the polished diamond used, and the authentication of precious metals.
 
As part of the certification process, the QR code will be included within the IGI Seal of Inspection/Standard of Excellence, affixed to each article. However, hard copy reports are also available for all IGI-certified jewelry.
 
“We are eager to bring additional benefit to both retailers and consumers by offering a real-time way to access a unique IGI report, as this is a crucial step in the fine jewelry buying process,” said IGI President and CEO Jerry Ehrenwald.

Two months ago the Gemological Institute of America announced that it had revised its own grading reports and would use QR codes to reduce paper waste and ensure greater security.

By: IDEX Online
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?