Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  08:00
New York  20:00
Mumbai  05:30
Jerusalem  03:00
Brussels  02:00
Moscow  04:00
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > Mining

Alrosa Finds Huge Diamond Worth $1.5 Million

25.09.12, 11:02 / Mining
diamond
Gem Diamonds  Enlarge
Lesotho Brown Diamond
Russian state diamond company Alrosa announced today that its diamond mining operations have recovered a massive stone, Ria Novosti reported. The gem, found earlier this month, is said to weigh 158.2 carats and has been appraised at over $1.5 million.
 
The stone was discovered  at the Nyurbinsk mining facilities in the Republic of Yakutia, a region in the north-east of Russia. If the stone is sawed into a number of smaller diamonds, they would still each be worth the equivalent of several hundred thousand American dollars, according to Ria Novosti.
 
The physical dimensions of Alrosa's stone are said to be 35 millimeters by 22 millimeters by 22 millimeters, according to Rough and Polished. The diamond is transparent although the central area has no visible defects, it has some dark inclusions and cracks on the periphery of the stone.
 
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?