Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  08:20
New York  20:20
Mumbai  05:50
Jerusalem  03:20
Brussels  02:20
Moscow  04:20
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Quebec Diamond Production May Be Delayed

16.09.12, 05:56 / World
diamond
De Beers  Enlarge
Aerial prospecting, Canada
A major infrastructural component of a pioneering diamond mine in eastern Canada is taking longer to complete that had originally been expected, and this may push back the start date of diamond production, Mining.com reported.
 
The Renard Project, the first diamond mine to be developed in the province of Quebec, may not produce assets by the initial 2015 deadline, as the construction of a highway extension between Chibougamau and the Otish Mountains may take longer than first thought. Despite impressive progress on the road thus far, diamond company Stornoway's ability to complete construction on time has been put in doubt.
 
The Renard Project, owned in its totality by TSX-traded Stornoway, is located in north-central Quebec, about 250 kilometers north of Mistissini, a Cree First Nations community. It is thought to contain approximately 18 million carats of diamonds, and the diamonds are expected to cost about $180 per carat, according to Mining.com.
 
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?