Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  16:41
New York  03:41
Mumbai  14:11
Jerusalem  10:41
Brussels  09:41
Moscow  12:41
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Rio Weighing Its Options for Diamond Mine Exit

19.08.12, 10:18 / World
diamond mine
Newscast  Enlarge
Diavik diamond mine
Rio Tinto
is “looking at multiple options" for its diamond business and plans to sell the diamond assets are “well advanced,” according to Chief Financial Officer Guy Elliott.
 
Speaking with reporters, Elliott said “The diamonds sector looks interesting and healthy certainly as you look into the medium- and longer-term, in view of the low levels of supply and continuing strong demand.”
 
The mining giant is looking to divest from less profitable divisions, including its aluminum operations.
 
He did not disclose who the possible buyers are, or what other options the firm has if some – or none – of the assets are sold.
 
Diamond company Harry Winston, which holds a 40% stake in Diavik, has a right of first refusal to buy Rio's 60% stake in the diamond mine. Harry Winston would “be interested in putting that to work,” Chief Executive Officer Robert Gannicott said June 13.
 
Elliott said that while over the years there have been occasional discussions about uniting Diavik and Ekati, "there are certainly no such current discussions.”
By: IDEX Online
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?