Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  08:54
New York  20:54
Mumbai  06:24
Jerusalem  03:54
Brussels  02:54
Moscow  04:54
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Botswana Diamond Company Steps Up Sales

16.08.12, 08:49 / World
diamond
Israeli Diamond Institute  Enlarge
Rough diamonds
Botswana will begin to auction its share of the rough diamonds harvested by Debswana, the diamond company owned in equal parts by De Beers and the government of Botswana, Mmegi reported. Until now, all diamonds produced by Debswana were marketed via De Beers' Diamond Trading Company (DTC).
 
The government's share of Debswana's diamonds will be auctioned by the Okavango Diamond Company, starting in April 2013. According to the terms of a ten-year contract signed with De Beers in September 2011, Okavango will sell between 10% and 15% of Debswana's diamonds. The sum of Okavango's diamond sales are expected to reach approximately $300 - $350 million per year. Debswana's total sales are about $3 billion annually, according to Mmegi.
 
Okavango chair Jacob Thamage said that the company was hard at work preparing for the official launch of sales in the second quarter of 2013. Due to relatively lower per-carat prices for diamonds at present, Okavango's delayed launch may work in its favor economically.
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?