Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  02:37
New York  14:37
Mumbai  00:07
Jerusalem  21:37
Brussels  20:37
Moscow  22:37
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Angola Grants More Artisan Diamond Mining Permits

13.08.12, 11:39 / World
diamond mine
NJR ZA  Enlarge
Diamond mine in Africa
A regional governor in the southern African nation of Angola has granted a slew of permits to small-scale diamond miners in the northeastern region of the country, Diamond Intelligence reports.
 
Lunda North province governor Ernesto Muangala issued 154 permits to artisanal diamond miners in the Cambulo and Lucapa municipalities in early August. Muangala clarified that the permits are conditional upon the miners not using any mechanized methods to explore for diamonds.
 
The issuing of permits on behalf of Angola's state-owned diamond company Endiama brings the total number of permits issued for artisanal miners, including within the municipality of Kuango, to one thousand.
 
The artisanal mining permits are part of an effort by the government of Angolan President Jose Eduardo dos Santos to increase economic activity in the country and stimulate employment, according to Diamond Intelligence.
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?