Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  05:49
New York  16:49
Mumbai  03:19
Jerusalem  23:49
Brussels  22:49
Moscow  01:49
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Jeweler Accused of $1 Million Diamond, Gem Theft

09.08.12, 09:29 / World
Diamond Thieves
Dreamstime.com  Enlarge
Diamond thieves
A New York City diamond trader has been charged with defrauding other jewelers of approximately a million dollars worth of diamonds and other precious gems, Government Security News Magazine reports.
 
The accused, 36-year-old Tejas Mehta, allegedly took diamonds and other gems from jewelry wholesalers under consignment, with the promise that he would pay them for the items, minus a commission fee, once he sold them. But instead of selling them, it is alleged that Mehta kept them for himself, yet told the wholesalers who he had received them from that the jewels had been seized by U.S. customs authorities.
 
In order to carry out the ruse, it is alleged that Mehta forged the seal of the U.S. Customs and Border Protection. A U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement's Office of Professional Responsibility special agent noted that this act is considered to be a serious crime, according to Government Security News Magazine.
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?