Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  08:16
New York  19:16
Mumbai  05:46
Jerusalem  02:16
Brussels  01:16
Moscow  04:16
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Rio Diamond Revenues Increase, But Not Enough

08.08.12, 09:24 / World
diamond
De Beers  Enlarge
Trucks at a diamond mining site
An increase in production and revenues has not prevented Rio Tinto's diamond business from losing more money in 2012. Rio's gross revenue from diamonds increased by 11.8% to $350 million in the first half of 2012.
 
The loss widened to $38 million from $10 million in the first six months of 2011, according to a first half underlying earnings report published Wednesday.
 
Rio Tinto is investing $2.2 billion in the underground mine at Argyle, extending the mine life to at least 2019. Production is scheduled to commence in the first half of 2013 reaching full production in 2014.
 
Of the net impairments to the group's diamond businesses, $456 million relates to Argyle and was caused by changes in assumptions about future capital costs required to complete the Argyle underground project, Rio said.
 
The results follow an 18% increase in production to 6.17 million carats during the January-June period of 2012.
 
While the company benefited from increased diamonds production, demand for rough diamonds slowdown.
 
Rio warned that the short-term fluctuations would continue in line with economy cycles and global conditions. The long-term outlook for diamonds remains robust, it added.
 
In March, Rio Tinto announced a strategic review of its diamond industry business that will include exploring a range of options for potential divestment of its diamonds interests.
 
The company is yet to announce the result of this review. According to media reports, Harry Winston, its partner at Diavik, is interested in Rio's 60% stake in the mine.
 
The one major holding for which there is presumably less interest is Argyle. One possible reason is the heavy costs related to the underground project.
 
Rio Tinto's diamond interests are Argyle (100%), Diavik (60%) and Murowa in Zimbabwe (77.8%).
 
By: INDEX Online
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?