Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  22:46
New York  10:46
Mumbai  20:16
Jerusalem  17:46
Brussels  16:46
Moscow  18:46
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > Mining

Stellar Diamonds Reports Good Grades in Guinea

07.08.12, 12:10 / Mining
diamond mine
NJR ZA  Enlarge
Diamond mine in Africa
London-based diamond company Stellar reports that its initial bulk samples from a site in the west African nation of Guinea were positive, yielding better-than-expected carat rates and a large diamond 5.55 carats in size, Diamond News reports.
 
Samples from the Katcha Dyke location at the company's Droujba project revealed nearly 300 metric tons of kimberlite, and 173 carats were harvested from a primary sample of the ore, equaling a rate of 188 carats per hundred metric tons.
 
Stellar chief executive Karl Smithson noted that this figure was far superior to the 100 carats per hundred metric tons that the company had originally projected. Smithson added that the firm intended to convert a stretch of the dyke to the status of inferred resource, likely between October and December of this year. The Droujba pipe already contains inferred resources of 2.5 million carats of diamonds.
 
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?