Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  11:05
New York  22:05
Mumbai  08:35
Jerusalem  05:05
Brussels  04:05
Moscow  07:05
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Zimbabwe Diamond Mining Suppliers Want Protection

07.08.12, 10:57 / World
diamond
  Enlarge
Map of Zimbabwe
A local trade organization that represents manufacturers and suppliers of mining equipment in Zimbabwe has appealed to the government to implement protectionist policies that would ensure that local diamond companies turn to them for their needs instead of foreign firms, Diamond Intelligence reports.
 
Zimbabwe Chamber of Mines Joint Supplies and Purchasing Committee Chair Philemon Muchana noted that the policies they are calling for would create local jobs. Muchana said that the fact that such regulations are not already in place is a cause for sorrow and amounts to providing support for foreign businesses.
 
Chamber of Mines President Winston Chitando also said that in order for the mining sector to contribute to the flourishing of the national economy, it would be necessary to reduce the heavy tax burden it struggles with, according to Diamond Intelligence. Statistics provided by the Chamber indicate that Zimbabwe earned $900 million from the export of mined resources between January and April 2012 alone.
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?