Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  06:34
New York  18:34
Mumbai  04:04
Jerusalem  01:34
Brussels  00:34
Moscow  02:34
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > World

Diamond Ring Auctioned for AIDS Fund

05.08.12, 11:10 / World
ring
KGH  Enlarge
Diamond ring
A polished diamond ring was auctioned to raise money for an AIDS charity at an awareness-raising event honoring British pop star Elton John and American Secretary of State Hilary Clinton for their efforts to combat the spread of disease, Diamond World reports. The event was promoted by the Human Rights Campaign to garner attention for two charitable foundations: the U.S. State Department's Global Equity Fund and the Elton John AIDS Foundation.
 
Lita Asscher, the president of jewelers Royal Asscher of America, auctioned off her own "Stars of Africa" diamond ring, which contains multiple 0.60-carat diamonds floating in silicon inside a sapphire globe. Asscher said that she was proud of her company's contribution to causes that are important. The ring managed to fetch $16,000.
 
The event, held at a private residence in Georgetown, Maryland, was hosted by Hollywood actress Sharon Stone, according to Diamond World.
 
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?