Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  14:58
New York  02:58
Mumbai  12:28
Jerusalem  08:58
Brussels  07:58
Moscow  10:58
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > Mining

New Killiq Kimberlite Discovered at Churchill Diamond Project in Nunavut

16.09.08, 10:35 / Mining

Stornoway Diamond Corporation (SWY:TSX) and partner Shear Minerals Ltd. (SRM:TSXV) have announced the discovery of the Killiq kimberlite at the Churchill Diamond Project in Nunavut.

The Killiq kimberlite was discovered during reverse circulation drilling in a high interest mineral chemistry area. Based on geophysical data, the Killiq kimberlite is a magnetic high dyke-like kimberlite interpreted to be a 1.1 km long trending north-south kimberlite dyke.

Killiq is located 150m up ice from the highest count indicator mineral till sample from 2007. A 35 kg sample of Killiq has been sent for diamond analysis. Based on the samples examined, the Killiq kimberlite is apparently similar in character to the high grade PST kimberlite (2.18 carats of diamonds per ton) located 300m directly up ice.

Pamela Strand, President of Shear Minerals Ltd, noted: “This new kimberlite discovery in conjunction with the known till results in this immediate area suggests a network of high diamond grade kimberlites in this area of the Sedna Corridor. Additional detailed till sampling will assist in future targeting.”

The Churchill Diamond Project is owned 41.86% by Stornoway and 58.14% by operator, Shear. Work is presently focused on continued exploration of new promising indicator mineral trains and geophysical anomalies.
 

By: Rachel Lieberman, Israel Diamond Industry Portal
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?