Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  20:00
New York  08:00
Mumbai  17:30
Jerusalem  15:00
Brussels  14:00
Moscow  16:00
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News >

Exclusive Interview with Kennedy Hamutenya, Namibian Diamond Commissioner

Namibia will Increasingly Turn to Marine Mining as Onshore Mining is Depleted
12.02.08, 13:48 / Rough Conference

Kennedy Hamutenya, Namibian Diamond Commissioner states that Namibia’s rough diamond production is expected to reach 2 million carats in 2008 – at an average of $300-$400 per carat.

 

More than 50% (500,000-550,000 carats) of Namibian annual diamond production is now through marine mining. This runs parallel to the technological challenges involved in marine mining. As onshore mining depletes, so offshore production will increase.

By: Sheryl Katz, Rachel Lieberman
Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?