Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  19:06
New York  07:06
Mumbai  16:36
Jerusalem  13:06
Brussels  12:06
Moscow  15:06
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > Financial News

Int'l Banks: Israel Can Weather Financial Crisis

Morgan Stanley, UBS, and Deutsche Bank: Israel is reaping the rewards of its cautious and responsible economic policies.
12.10.08, 11:05 / Financial News

Representatives of three top international banks - Morgan Stanley, UBS, and Deutsche Bank - gave a near-uniform message to Israeli officials yesterday: the Israeli economy is as ready as it can be for the international financial crisis. Israel's bankers are in Washington to attend the IMF-World Bank Annual Meeting.

In informal discussions, the banks' representatives told their Israeli counterparts that Israel was reaping the rewards of its cautious and responsible economic policies of recent years. The representatives said that Israel would be affected by the crisis, but the effect would be minimal, mainly because of Israel's budget surplus in 2007.

They cautioned, however, that there was no assurance of a budget surplus this year. Even if state revenues fall and reduce the budget surplus, the deficit would not exceed 2% of GDP as happened in 2002.

 

Courtesy of Globes

Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?