Newsletter
Submit
World Clock
Hong Kong  01:42
New York  13:42
Mumbai  23:12
Jerusalem  20:42
Brussels  19:42
Moscow  21:42
Home > Diamond News Center > Diamond News > Financial News

Stats Show Spanish Economy Still In Decline

30.10.12, 12:27 / Financial News

Figures issued by Spain's National Statistics Institute revealed that the country's five-year financial slump continues and that its economy is still contracting, despite the government's efforts to reduce its deficit, Bloomberg Businessweek reported.

After Spain's gross domestic product fell by 0.4% in the second quarter of the year, it fell an additional 0.3% during this past quarter, making it the fifth straight quarter in a row to record a GDP decrease. At the same time, the report revealed that inflation is driving consumer prices up. They have increased by 3.5% in the last twelve months alone, marking the highest monthly inflation rate in the last year and a half.

Analysts fear that this inflation, a by-product of austerity tax hikes instituted by Spanish Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy, could very well add nearly $4 billion to Spain's pension debt, according to Bloomberg Businessweek.

Recommendations from Facebook
© Copyright 2014 Israel Diamond Institute. All rights reserved
Terms of Use Privacy Policy
Israel Diamond Institute ewave
Access the Israel diamond institute portal
registred members
  #
Forgot your password?